Metropolitans of the Original Province of the Anglican Catholic Church

The first Metropolitan of the Original Province of Anglican Catholic Church was elected and enthroned in 1983 during a Provincial Synod in Orlando, Florida, in accordance with the provisions of the Constitution and Canons adopted by previous Synods.  Prior to the enthronement of a Metropolitan the Church was led by Acting Metropolitans.  Bishop Albert Chambers was the first Acting Metropolitan, as he was the sole bishop willing to provide episcopal care for orthodox Churchmen under the irregular circumstances created by the systematic abandonment of apostolic order in the Anglican Church of Canada (1975) and the Protestant Episcopal Church in the United States of America (1976).  As soon as other bishops were consecrated, Bishop Chambers returned to retirement.  Thereafter Bishop James Orin Mote functioned as Acting Metropolitan following the adoption of the Church’s Constitution.  After the election of a Metropolitan in 1983 other men have served as Acting Metropolitan after the Metropolitan has died or resigned and before a new Metropolitan has been elected.  At the present time the office of Acting Metropolitan is assumed automatically by the Senior Bishop Ordinary of the Province.

The elected Metropolitans of the Original Province of the Anglican Catholic Church have been:

  1. Louis Wahl Falk 1983 – 1991
  2. William Oliver Lewis 1991 – 1997
  3. Michael Dean Stephens 1997 – 1998
  4. John Thayer Cahoon, Jr. 1999 – 2000
  5. John-Charles Vockler 2001 – 2005
  6. Mark David Haverland 2005 – present

Bishop Mote resumed office as Acting Metropolitan for the beginning of the Charlotte Provincial Synod in 1991, between the resignation of the first Metropolitan just before the Synod opened and the election and enthronement of Archbishop Lewis by the Synod.  Bishop Cahoon served as Acting Metropolitan between the death of Archbishop Lewis and the election of Archbishop Stephens and again following the death of Archbishop Stephens until his own election to the office in 1999.  Bishop John-Charles served as Acting Metropolitan between the death of Archbishop Cahoon and his own election as Metropolitan.  Archbishop John-Charles resigned as Metropolitan as of the enthronement of his successor, so there was no Acting Metropolitan prior to the election of Archbishop Haverland as Metropolitan.

One thought on “Episcopate of the Anglican Catholic Church: Metropolitans and Acting Metropolitans

  1. I have had the good pleasure to be acquainted with all but one of the six Metropolitans, to one degree or another, and I consider them all to have been great blessings to the Church.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s